Halal Information

What is Halal?

In Islam, Halal is an Arabic term meaning “lawful or permissible” and not only encompasses food and drink, but all matters of daily life.



Halal Non-Meat Products

The following is a partial list of Halal non-meat products that are subject to critical processes or ingredients that can affect the product’s Halal integrity:



  • Bread products
  • Cereals – breakfast, natural, and organic
  • Cheese, cheese products and coatings
  • Coffee mixes
  • Dairy Products – whipped toppings and drink mixes
  • Desserts – cakes and pastries
  • Eggs – powdered, frozen, and processed
  • Fish and Seafood
  • French Fries and Processed Potatoes
  • Fruits – fresh and/or dried
  • Grains
  • Honey
  • Ice Cream and Ice Cream Toppings
  • Jams and Jellies
  • Legumes and Nuts
  • Milk (from species considered Halal)
  • Pastry Items – frostings and coatings
  • Pastas
  • Peanut Butter
  • Pizzas
  • Plants (which are non-intoxicating)
  • Sauces and Dressings
  • Seasonings
  • Soup and Soup Base
  • Syrups – table and flavored
  • Tea Blends
  • Vegetables – fresh and frozen


Non-food items which may also be Halal certified 

  • Capsules, both pharmaceutical and vitamin
  • Cleaning Agents
  • Cosmetics
  • Nutritional Supplements
  • Packaging
  • Protein Powders
  • Vitamins and Minerals
Halal Meat and Poultry

In the meat, poultry, and food industry, animals such as; cows, veal, lamb, sheep, goats, turkeys, chickens, ducks, game birds, bison, and venison are acceptable to consume if they are slaughtered according to Islamic law.

SHARE: